INEC publishes final list of candidates for February bye-elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission has published the final list and personal particulars of candidates for bye-elections.

This was contained in a statement signed by the National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, on Wednesday.

The bye-elections will be held on February 3, 2024, across nine states of the federation covering two senatorial districts (Ebonyi South and Yobe East); four federal constituencies (Shanga/Ngaski/Yauri Federal Constituency of Kebbi State, Surulere I Federal Constituency of Lagos State, Akoko North East/Akoko North West Federal Constituency of Ondo State and Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency of Taraba State); and three state constituencies (Guma I State Constituency of Benue State, Chibok State Constituency of Borno State and Chikun State Constituency of Kaduna State).

According to Olumekun, the particulars and final list of candidates were published on Wednesday in the commission’s state offices.

“As provided in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities, the personal particulars and final list of candidates have been published today in our State offices and the affected constituencies pursuant to the provision of Section 29(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022.

“The list of candidates is also published on our website and social media platforms,” he said.

The commission appealed to Nigerians to scrutinise the personal particulars of the candidates.

He stated “We appeal to Nigerians to scrutinize the personal particulars (Form EC9 and academic credentials) of the candidates.

“Any aspirant who participated in his/her party primaries with reasonable grounds to believe that the information provided by the candidate is false can challenge the nomination in a Federal High Court as provided in Section 29(5) of the Electoral Act 2022.

“For clarity, this publication only applies to the forthcoming bye-elections as they are fresh elections for which political parties conducted primaries and nominated their candidates.”

Olumekun further noted that the list and personal particulars of candidates for rerun elections to be held on February 3 2024 were published before the 2023 General Election.

“The re-run elections are conducted pursuant to the orders of the Election Petition Appeal Tribunals.

“They are not fresh elections open to new/disqualified candidates which obviates the need to publish their personal particulars again,” the statement added.