Pro-Fubara lawmakers confirm eight as Rivers commissioners

Governor of Rivers State, Siminialayi Fubara

The Rivers State House of Assembly led by Victor Oko-Jumbo has screened and confirmed eight nominees as commissioners and members of the Rivers State Executive Council.

This followed a request by Governor Siminalayi Fubara as part of his ongoing efforts to strengthen his administration.

The commissioners designate include Charles Bekee, a former Chairman of the Rivers/Bayelsa Branch of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria; Collins Onunwo, a former Caretaker Committee Chairman of Obio/Akpor Local Government Area; and Solomon Eke, also a former Caretaker Committee Chairman of Obio/Akpor Local Government Area.

Others are Dr. Peter Medee, former Commissioner for Energy in the immediate past administration; Barr. Elloka Tasie-Amadi, former Commissioner for Works in the immediate past administration; Basoene Benibo; Tambari Sydney-Gbara, immediate past Publicity Secretary of the PDP in the state; and Dr. Ovy Chukwuma.

The screening and confirmation marked the second exercise to be conducted under Oko-Jumbo’s leadership.

The first, which took place last week, saw the successful screening and confirmation of Dagogo Iboroma, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, as the Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General of the state.

During the debate, the Leader of the House, Sokari Goodboy, pleaded with the House to confirm the nominees since most of them have served in various capacities in the state.

The Speaker, Victor Oko-Jumbo, however, used the opportunity to commend Governor Siminalayi Fubara on his achievements in the last year.

He also called on the governor to remain focused and continue to deliver the dividends of democracy to the people, assuring him of the Assembly’s support.