Tinubu appoints 20 NPC federal commissioners

President of Nigeria, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu

President Bola Tinubu on Wednesday appointed 20 federal commissioners in the National Population Commission with nine current federal commissioners being appointed for a second term in office:

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale, disclosed this in a statement titled ‘President Tinubu appoints twenty federal commissioners of the national population commission.’

Wednesday’s appointments come only hours after the President launched the Electronic Civil Registration and Vital Statistics System, alongside the National Geospatial Data Repository and the National Coordination Committee on CRVS.

According to Ngelale, the reappointed commissioners include Dr. Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Mr. Chidi Ezeoke (Anambra), Isa Buratai (Borno), Dr. Tony Aiyejina (Edo), Mr. Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Abubakar Damburam (Gombe), Prof. Uba Nnabue (Imo), Mudashiru Hussain (Osun) and Mr. Saany Sale (Taraba).

Meanwhile, the new appointees are Emmanuel Eke (Abia), Alex Ukam (Cross River), Blessyn Brume-Ataguba (Delta), Dr. Jeremiah Nwankwegu (Ebonyi), Ms. Sa’adatu Garba (Kaduna) and Dr. Aminu Tsanyawa (Kano).

Others are Yori Afolabi (Kogi), Olakunle Sobukola (Ogun), Temitayo Oluwatuyi (Ondo), Ms. Mary Afan (Plateau) and Mr. Ogiri Henry (Rivers).

The President tasked the new and returning NPC Federal Commissioners to “successfully implement all measures taken by his administration to produce and effectively appropriate accurate population data with which lasting solutions to Nigeria’s socio-political and economic challenges can be conclusively developed and executed.”