Tinubu appoints nine new INEC RECs

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of nine (9) new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The appointment is for a term of five (5) years each, which is also subject to the confirmation of the Nigerian Senate.

Ajuri Ngelale, Tinubu’s media aide, noted that the appointment is justified based on powers vested in him by Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999, Amended) and Section 6 of the Electoral Act (2022).

The new appointees include Mr. Isah Shaka Ehimeakne — Edo State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Bamidele Agbede — Ekiti State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Jani Adamu Bello — Gombe State Resident Electoral Commissioner and Dr. Taiye Ilayasu — Kwara State Resident Electoral Commissioner

Others are Dr. Bunmi Omoseyindemi — Lagos State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Alhaji Yahaya Bello — Nasarawa State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. Mohammed Yalwa — Niger State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Anugbum Onuoha — Rivers State Resident Electoral Commissioner and Mr. Abubakar Fawa Dambo — Zamfara State Resident Electoral Commissioner

Ngelale said the President expects the new appointees to abide by the highest standards of professional and ethical conduct in the discharge of their duties, in accordance with his determination to facilitate the establishment of a new and sustainable standard of transparent, fair, and conflict-free electoral conduct in Nigeria.