Kano Assembly dethrones five Emirs, dissolves emirate councils

The Kano State Assembly unanimously voted on Thursday to abolish the Emirate Council Law of 2019 and its 2023 amendment.

With the repeal of the Emirate Council Law, the Emir of Kano and the four new emirs established by former Governor Abdullah Umar Ganduje have been dethroned.

The assembly declared that henceforth, the division of the Kano traditional council into five emirates is reversed to a single emirate.

The repeal of the laws, passed during the plenary on Thursday under the speaker Rt. Hon. Ismail J. Falgore, empowers Kano State Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf as the sole authority to appoint the Emir of Kano.

There are speculations that Governor Yusuf will soon reappoint the 15th Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi, to the throne of his ancestors.

More details shortly…